mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
JEA
  • JEA
    Sat Nov 04, 2017 11:41 pm

Hey,

I am pretty new to welding and have been of acting laying beads down, have been getting pretty decent. Right now i am working on a project right now that i am using scrap 2" sch 40 pipe, probably wasn't the best choice but had a bunch laying around. Anyways I am having hard time having my welds look any good. When welding it does seem to wet out but the bead looks kind of big and maybe cold. I am using .030 wire, 260ipm, and 18v...the metal is I believe.154 thick. I think I should maybe crank it up a bit. I was pulling. Maybe traveling too slow. For the butt weld I had a slug in it and left a gap and the other weld was notched and had a gap as well...hope no one has nightmares from the pictures :lol:
Attachments
20171104_202436.jpg
20171104_202436.jpg (29.72 KiB) Viewed 1152 times
20171104_202421.jpg
20171104_202421.jpg (24.89 KiB) Viewed 1152 times
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Travel speed looks pretty good to me, but both welds look cold to me. Crank up the heat and see how it runs.
JEA
  • JEA

Any recommendations on how much I should crank it up? Was also thinking about going to .035 wire. Also would it be ok to grind it down and just reweld it. I figure won't be wasting material. Would I be able to see any pack of fusion by grinding down the weld? Thinking about grinding a ring on where the original gap was and then go at it again.

Thank you
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Cut the stem off above the weld, notch it, and weld it again. Bumping up to 0.035 wire require even more heat. For 0.030, increase your voltage half a volt and test it again. Then bump by .2v until it welds hot enough.

The best way to test the penetration is to cut a ring, then cut that into sections. Polish and etch itand inspect.
JEA
  • JEA