mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
    Sat Feb 17, 2018 10:10 pm

Hey y’all!

I’ve got a pretty big project coming up, consists of welding 5 inch c channel to a 3/8 mounting plate, 12” x 12”, which will be bolted to concrete wall. 250 pieces. Plus, another 250 pieces on the other end, but that one is a T joint, 1/2” base plate, 12x22, with a 3/8, 7 inch tall plate welded perpendicular. So a lot of pretty heavy stuff.

My question is, would you guys recommend using dual shield flux core or solid wire? I’m no professional welder by any standards just a lot of practice making stuff on the farm. I’ve never ever used anything except 0.35 solid wire. But flux core is apparently faster and penetrates better? Since it it structural stuff, and a lot of it that sounds like what I want. And that’s only half the project there’s also some angle to c channel welding etc

I could attach some drawings to clarify later, I don’t have them on my phone.

Thanks for any advice

Julian
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

I’d make the decision by the environment in which you’ll be welding. Solid wire and Dual Shield both are sensitive to wind blowing the gas away, in which case I’d use Flux Core. If you’re welding indoors, clean and prep the material and use Solid Wire since you’re familiar with it.

All three demand proper settings and technique to get it right.

I have a decent size shop with ventilation. So no wind. All the parts will be welded inside, drilled and then sent for galvanizing

In a way, the reason I’m not familiar with dual shield is why I want to :) to learn something new. But the biggest reason I want to is because of the speed. As soon as the snow melts up here in Manitoba farming starts and then I have very little time to anything else. And there’s about 900-1000 feet of weld in the whole project. Anyone have a rough guess how much time dual shield would save? Or isn’t it that much faster?
    Sun Nov 19, 2017 10:09 am