mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Grayfox
    Thu May 05, 2011 1:57 pm

Hi, I'm a college student (Limited Funds) with a Lincoln SP 125+ mig welder. I currently have small portable bottles of pure CO2 I use for various things, and I now have a 25# tank that I need to choose a gas to fill with. Although a good portion of my jobs will be mild steel (hence C25), I also plan to weld stainless and maybe even aluminum. I should be welding no thicker than 1/8" or 10 gauge metals, so instead of buying multiple bottles of C25, Trimix and Argon, how feasible is it to fill my tank with pure argon and apply it to ss & aluminum then revert to my pure CO2 tanks for steel? I am well aware of the benefits of C25 and that my puddles might stack up higher with pure Argon, but is it a feasible choice for ss? Thanks for your time.
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

Pure argon should work fine for what you plan to do. Sounds like a good plan to me.
WeldingSyncrowave 250,Millermatic 252,30a Spoolgun Cutting12" Hi-speed Cutoff Saw, 9x 12 Horizontal Bandsaw MillingGorton 8d Vertical Mill TurningMonarch EE Precision Lathe GrindingBrown & Sharpe #5 Surface Grinder
Grayfox

Ok, the guy at Praxair told me I could do stainless with C25, but I don't buy it. At this point it looks like I might do my mild steel welds with CO2 Paintball canisters, and my stainless steel welds with pure argon, leaving me with the option to do aluminum as well, that way I don't have to buy another tank.
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

I've used pure argon to tig weld mild and galvanized steel before and it's worked just fine. It would probably work for mig too, if you didn't feel like switching tanks. I don't know if it's recommended,but all the welds held up fine. But I wasn't doing any critical welds, just a bunch of grinder handles.