mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Glowzinski
    Thu Dec 31, 2015 9:08 pm

I hooked my Suitcase to my Bobcat 250. The Suitcase would not power on. It is new.

I got a 5 foot cable, to allow me room to sit the Suitcase down, after it is hooked to the Bobcat.

Any idea on why the thing will not turn on?

I have never used a Suitcase before. But I thought, you hook it up, it comes on. haha
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

Take a picture - it'll be easier to figure what you've done wrong.

But, it won't turn on unless the welding lead is hooked to it and the ground lead hooked to the same metal as the small wire from the suitcase.

I often just hook the small wire right to the ground clamp.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
Glowzinski

I will get a picture tomorrow.

I saw the setup, when using gas. I don't see a voltage sensing thing. haha Just the ground clamp and the other cable.

I am trying flux core. I put the gun into the outlet. Then, I hooked my ground thing into the ground part of the Bobcat.

I was not trying to weld. Just to turn the thing on. Nothing.

I tried negative and positive, on the mig part of the Bobcat. Nothing.

I set the amps at every setting there was. Nothing.

Did you read the manual? It's stupid easy to hook up.
Screenshot_2018-06-21-19-47-52.png
Screenshot_2018-06-21-19-47-52.png (148.59 KiB) Viewed 2059 times
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Glowzinski

haha, yes I did. Still, nothing. The thing just would not power on.

I got the parts in the manual, just for mig. I printed them out. I shall bring them out with me tomorrow.