mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
    Sat Apr 25, 2020 4:42 am

Hi guys! I'm a newbie at this forum and want to start welding.
I have a car and it would be great if I could repair some details with a welder. I've already seen the videos how other people do this and it looks awesome https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FpE5kh5ftHk
I don't have my own welder yet but I'm ready to buy it. I'm not sure I can do the right decision so, please, help me with it.
The first question is about welder types: which one is better for the beginner? I know about MIG and TIG but I don't know which one is better for car details. And is there any difference with working material? I mean, if one (for example, TIG) works with aluminum, does another one do so? Or not? I've already tried to search some materials about it on this forum but it would be better to have all the answers to my questions in one place (sorry).
And the last question, where can I read more about good(!) models? I'm asking this because some of you may say "just google it" and I want to prevent these messages. For example, I googled and found this resource. May I trust it? I don't know. The Internet is giant and nobody knows what it will show.
Please, share your thoughts and opinions here.
Thanks in advance!
Not all those who wander are lost.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

i'll try to keep this short.

its a long road from beginner to fixing cars as per video. its not just welding but other fabraction skills required.

learning to weld, i always recommend a stick welder. best thing to learn with.
not usually recommeded to weld cars with tho not impossible.
main aim here is to learn the basics. plus stick welders are just so handy for repairs and small projects. everyone should have one.

then its mig. more suited for cars and larger projects. but requires more gear. cost of shielding gas is can be a problem.

tig is the hardest. ac/dc tig will do aluminium.