mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
ulaughwme
    Fri Oct 21, 2011 10:06 pm

I am new to welding and just bought a 115 volt Campbell Hausfeld flux cored welder (is this any good?). I am trying to weld a BBQ from a compressor tank. Never welded. Ran a few beads and they are looking almost acceptable for what I want. Few questions.
I have some stainless steel rod that is slightly magnetic. Can I weld it with any flux cored stainless steel wire (i.e.304 or 309) or will that not work (that’s about all the wire I could find on the web). (It is for the grill so just a couple of spot welds per bar). Flux wire for stainless if difficult to find and very expensive. What if I just used non flux with no gas on the spot welds. What would happen? It’s just a gril with no real stress happening to it except during cleaning.

2. Can I buy a large roll of wire and just roll my own 2 lb spools? Any specific care needed?

And lastly, about how fast do I move the gun if I'm welding a butt joint about 1/8 inch thick? 1 Inch in 5 seconds? Using .035 wire.
Thanks!
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

Hi there again.

You have alot of questions so Ill try not to confuse you.. First off, if you try to weld with solid steel wire with out gas your weld will just be a glob of mess with lots of holes in it. The flux core or the gas protect the molten metal from the air.

I think you should be right with any stainless wire. The have to be matched when you need to make sure of corrosion resistance and that kind of thing.

I have never tried to wind my own spools but you might have trouble getting the tension required. There was a post on here about it but that guy was a pro. You might be able to get away with it, but hold on tight or the whole lot will just go sprrrroooonggg!!!!!