mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
LanceR
    Sun Sep 21, 2014 5:32 pm

Hello All

It's been a good long while since I spent any time on the board. I'm a hobbyist and am getting ready to start a few wood burning smoker projects and the only welder I currently have is a low hours Lincoln Ranger 8. I expect to be doing a lot of welding 1/4" steel and much of that will be outside corners. I'm in the market for a multi process machine for mild steel and expect any use on stainless of aluminum to be very rare. And I don't care if the machine won't TIG aluminum.

I've test driven both the EMP 235ic and the 285ic with both stick and wire and like the way they run. I already have several 12" rolls of solid (Lincoln Super Arc L-56 .035") and flux core (Lincoln NR-211 .035 and .045") wire stowed in big military ammo cans dating back a few years to when I had a couple LN-25s. I also have 3-4 gas cylinders in the 280-320 CF range and some smaller cylinders and all have been hydro tested, sandblasted and painted in the last few years. Having differing gas mixes on hand is not an issue so if another wire/gas combination makes sense please speak up.

So....I'm looking for advice on whether anyone sees an issue with either the EMP 235ic or the 285ic and which wire and gas combination might be best to start with. Or should I be looking at a different brand and model of machine? I have heavy 240 volts circuits in both spaces where I might be welding.

I suspect the machine would be primarily used for wire welding with some stick welding (with 7018 mostly) for the smokers as I still need a LOT of TIG practice before doing anything other than practicing and want to get a foot pedal before long.

Current retail on the EMP 235is with the $200 rebate is $600 less than the 285ic and that difference may be hard for me, as a retired hobby welder, to bite off.

Thanks for looking and best regards to all,

Lance
LanceR

Miller Multimatic 255
Hypertherm Powermax45 XP