mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
HTP-Ted
    Sat Nov 19, 2011 8:12 am

Hello, new guy here. Ted's my name, from Detroit, Michigan. I'm just a hobby welder right now. I'm running an HTP MIG160DV (duel voltage). Just wondering what MIG machines you guys are using? Any of you familiar with HTP welders? I usually feel like the odd man out because many have not heard of HTP. Any pics? I'm certain I'll be asking several more annoying questions here. Thanks HTP-Ted

http://www.usaweld.com/MIG-Welders-s/3.htm
eliotmay
    Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:56 am

I'm a nooby too. I started my hobby welding world with northern mig 135. I have done a lot of projects with it. Now I bought a miller diversion 165 tig. Love it! Looking forward to a miller mig in the future. I love both types of welding
Hobby welder
my equipment:
Miller diversion 165
Northern mig 135
Wish list: plasma cutter, miller mig, low rpm chop saw with metal blade, oxy/acet setup, six car garage, modine
    Fri Feb 12, 2010 10:48 am

HTP Ted,
You sure you don't work for HTP ? You kinda sound like a salesman. Anyway, HTP MIGS might be good for a hobbyist, but for the serious welder, duty cycles and output are wayyyy toooooo low. Also, doesn't look like there are any spool-gun capabilities.
Jim
Pipefitter/Weldor out of Local 396
Millermatic 252
Dynasty 200DX
Maxstar 150 STL
Spoolmate 100
Hypertherm Powermax 85
Miller Digital Elite
JD2 Model 32 Bender
Emerson 7120 Horizontal/Vertical Bandsaw
Oxy-Gas Torch outfit
Generac XP8000E Generator
HTP-Ted

Nope. Not affiliated with them one bit. Just enthused about welding and the different choices of machines other people make for their needs. Remember, I'm just a hobbyist so I'm just here to learn and enjoy. Not stepping on anyone's feet here. Just happy with the choice in machine I made, that's all. Now, if I said "Drive a Lincoln, Drink a Miller, but weld with an HTP" then yes I'd definitely sound like a salesman. :)