mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Bramic71
    Sun Dec 27, 2020 11:01 am

I am new to welding, and want to start with home or decorative items while I am learning. Later on I plan on getting and learning with a Lincoln 225 stick welder. For the time being for my first welder, I am going to go with a mig. I have been watching many videos on the different brands. Some of them are out of my range, Miller, Esab, etc... I have been looking at the HH140, Forney 140, Lincoln 140, Everlast models, etc
What are your opinions on a good first welder? Also, it doesn't have to be one of the top 3 big companies. Thank you for your opinions.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Bramic71 wrote:I am new to welding, and want to start with home or decorative items while I am learning. Later on I plan on getting and learning with a Lincoln 225 stick welder. For the time being for my first welder, I am going to go with a mig. I have been watching many videos on the different brands. Some of them are out of my range, Miller, Esab, etc... I have been looking at the HH140, Forney 140, Lincoln 140, Everlast models, etc
What are your opinions on a good first welder? Also, it doesn't have to be one of the top 3 big companies. Thank you for your opinions.
Do you have access to order any welder we talk about? Location is so unbelievably important, it's worth mentioning it. :)
G-ManBart
    Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 am

Do you have a ballpark price range that you'd like to stay under? Will you have 230V power available? Those two things are critical to know before anybody can really make any recommendations.

On the Lincoln stick welder, the AC/DC models are vastly superior to the AC only 225A versions. There are times when AC is the right choice for stick welding, but probably 95% of the time DC will be much, much better...it's like night and day.
Miller Syncrowave 250DX TIGRunner
Miller Millermatic 350P
Miller Regency 200 W/22A and Spoolmatic 3
Hobart Champion Elite