mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
WVDeere
    Thu Feb 13, 2020 8:13 pm

Hey guys. I’m new to welding so take it easy in me. I’m looking for a <$1000 mig machine to live in my garage and run off 230v. What I have been looking at is mostly hobby machines from the bigger name company’s. the Lincoln pro-mig 180 ($700) and Hobart 190. ($700) I was curious what you guys thought about these machines. One other consideration is the Hobart 210 mvp. It’s on sale for about $800. I’m not interested in the dual voltage setup but would the extra amps be worth the up charge. Thanks guys. I’d love to have a Lincoln 210 MP so I could also replace my old tombstone buzz box stick welder but they’re about $1500 everywhere I have seen. Is it drastically better or worth double to hold out for and save up to get?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
    Wed Jan 22, 2014 12:00 am

It's really hard to go wrong with Hobart. I owned and loved the Hobart HH 190. I am extremely interested in the Hobart Multihandler for right around $1,000
Multimatic 255
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

i can't comment on brands
but i would get something with removeable mig gun (ie euro connector). inverter not transformer and has wire feed and voltage displays. also inductance setting.
that makes life a whole lot easier.

the other important thing as you mention beginner, is this mig for you to learn on?
if so, a stick welder is much better to learn with. just a cheap basic a little inverter stick welder (or 2nd hand transformer machine) is good to learn with and comes in handy for other stuff later on.
tweak it until it breaks
WVDeere