mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
zook005
    Thu Mar 25, 2021 2:33 pm

Need some help deciding on a welder purchase...

I am new to welding, and keen to start with Mig. I will not be doing industrial heavy beam/plate/pipe welding, mostly farm, home, and some auto chassis work.

After much YouTubing, forums reading, and carefully figuring my budget, I have come to two choices for now: HTP's MIG 200i, and Canaweld's MIG 202/201. The main differences I have figured out is that Canaweld's can do stick, has a much higher power output and duty cycle, and can weld up to 1/2". HTP's has a very good reputation and supposedly a very nice arc, though will only weld up to 1/4" (which would be enough for 95% of the time, at least it is what I am thinking right now.). Canaweld states their arc is very stable, though not sure how it compares to HTPs. Neither machine has an inductance dial option. Both are about the same price at the moment, and this is about as much as I can afford.

I was wondering if some of you could share some opinions that may steer me to make a final decision. My take is that Canaweld's is more of an industrial welder, while HTP's is more of a finesse welder ?...

I would like to avoid purchasing a welder I may want to supersede soon. I do not plan to get into TIG (too old to put in the effort it would take), and while stick is good to have as an option, I would be OK without.

Cheers
...learning something new and useful
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Sorry to burst your bubble, but don't believe everything you read. You cannot MIG weld 1/2" steel nor aluminum with only 200A in a single-pass. 200A is 1/4" single-pass no matter what machine you look at. Maybe a teensy weensy bit more if you use gasless flux core 035 wire, because it is a hotter process at the same amperage, but not much more.

To weld 1/2" single-pass, reliably, you need 300-350A minimum.
zook005