mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
RayTex
    Thu Mar 11, 2021 2:36 pm

I am just getting started, learning at home using WT&T video and some Lincoln Electric books. I am right handed.

Please clarify:

While Mig welding on horizontal flat plate pulling from left to right, is the "leading edge of the puddle" on the (1) left side of the electrode or (2) on the right hand side of the electrode. This will answer my questions. Thank you for your help with this most basic question. :?:
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Right side of electrode if the torch angle is near 90*. The puddle will be ever so slightly ahead of the wire going in, unless you lay the gun aimed backwards, behind where you just welded.
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

Similar to what cj737 said, so long as the travel speed is correct, then I agree. Reason being, the puddle is dynamic and evolves with time, as it is not a static event. If you happen to move too fast, regardless of gun angle it is possible to have the wire and arc completely out of the puddle, and that same situation would then have the leading edge of the puddle to the left side of the electrode. So, assuming a proper travel speed and no extreme mig gun angle, I agree it will be ever so slightly to the right of the electrode when going left→right.
Spartan
    Fri Mar 06, 2020 8:59 pm

Perhaps I think of it more simply. IMO, the leading edge of the puddle is always in the direction of travel. So if you're moving left to right, the leading edge of the puddle is always on the right. If you're moving right to left, the leading edge of the puddle is always on the left. It's basically just the furthest advanced portion of the weld/puddle.

If you're unable to fall within those bounds, then it just means that you're screwing up the puddle, and at that point, the matter of a "leading edge" is moot.
G-ManBart
    Sat Aug 01, 2020 11:24 am