mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Jared91
    Tue Jan 21, 2020 2:00 am

So im new to welding ive got a big argon tank thats heavy as hell and figured it was full but when you open the valve nothing comes out. I took it in to be exchanged and the guy tells me its almost full?? Is there anyway the main valve can be junk or is this guy just lying to me?
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

Put a regulator on it and see what internal pressure it reads.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

i don't know your tanks but it could have a valved tap where you need to fit a regulator etc onto it which pushes open the valve in the tap. if you fit the wrong type of reg/fitting it won't push open the valve.
tweak it until it breaks
    Thu Dec 26, 2013 12:41 am

well how did he check to see that it is "almost full"?
KnarfEK
    Tue Oct 19, 2021 10:23 am

Yes, the tanks are heavy even when empty. Casual (human lifting) weighing is not an indicator of gas quantity.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

1 scf of Argon weighs .1034 lb. A 300 cf bottle of Argon full weighs a hair over 31lb more when it’s full compared to dead empty.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

You could always shake it to see if you can hear it sloshing.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
BillE.Dee
    Mon Nov 27, 2017 8:53 pm

IF he had a gas stretcher ,, he wouldn't have run out of gas so fast.
sbaker56
    Sat Feb 08, 2020 12:12 am

Poland308 wrote: Tue Oct 19, 2021 7:10 pm 1 scf of Argon weighs .1034 lb. A 300 cf bottle of Argon full weighs a hair over 31lb more when it’s full compared to dead empty.