mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
mortizx
    Mon Nov 08, 2010 1:39 am

Hi, Im new to welding and I just got a good deal for the Pro MIg 180 at Lowes for like 550. Was wondering if I should go for a Power Mig which I here its better and more professional for 650 or stay with Pro Mig 180?
Also, I can also get the ProMig 140 for 450 and Since im new, and I dont weld anything 1/2 thick, cause im starting to learn, should I get the 110v vs 220 because of portability?

Thanks,,
MJJT
    Thu Dec 30, 2010 9:11 pm

I bought a Lincoln Electric 180C MIG/Flux Core welder from Ivey (a Lincoln Electric distributor). The Lowes or Home Depot ones, from what I’ve researched, are okay until they break. They are of lesser quality. I verified this with Lincoln Electric Tech folks; there is a difference. I wired my garage for the 220 Volts. My personal preference was a bigger machine that would do the job of a smaller machine too. This decision was very helpful when I jumped to a bigger project like the utility trailer I just built. Hope this helps.
Sarge

Go big or go home I always say... You will not regret it.
Be Innovative.
Goal is perfection, but excellence is Acceptable.
Powermig 255C
Powermig 350MP x2
175 squarewave
Weld-pac 100
Hypertherm 600
Hypertherm 1250
    Fri Nov 04, 2011 11:31 pm