Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
Moffpro
    Mon Oct 31, 2016 5:08 pm

So I got my certifications back in September of 2016 and in April of 2017 I got my first welding job at a production shop. So my question is when do I start look for a better shop? I make $11 an hour and I work 45 hours a week and I pretty much just mig weld all the time. The expectations there are quantity over quality which is part of the reason I would like to leave but I also want to expand my knowledge, plus it would be nice to work at a better shop. My problem I don't know if I should wait a few more months or not.
    Sun Oct 27, 2013 10:57 pm

Unless there is a great reason not to, I'm always looking for the next employment.

Never know when a job might end so I always look. Even now that I'm a teacher, I'm still always checking to make sure I know where my next job could be.
Dave J.

Beware of false knowledge; it is more dangerous than ignorance. ~George Bernard Shaw~

Syncro 350
Invertec v250-s
Thermal Arc 161 and 300
MM210
Dialarc
Tried being normal once, didn't take....I think it was a Tuesday.
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

How long have you actually been there? If less than a year I'd say stick it out at least that long. Looking for a better job is an ongoing process. There really isn't a right or wrong time. Unless something obvious pops up that's better, then at least 1year at the same place "even a sucky one" looks good on a resume.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

All valid points. The job search is a constant. A year on a first job looks good on a resume'.

That said, I made $11/hr in production in 1989/90.

How much more can you expect to learn where you're at? That was always the line I would draw. When I had learned all a job was going to teach me, I would start looking for the next learning experience.