Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
weldtex
    Sun Oct 02, 2011 12:28 am

Howdy folks, Seeking information as to what it really takes to get started welding in the oilfield. I live in a very small farm community supposedly in the early stages of turning from cotton fields to oilfields. Rigs are indeed steadily appearing on the horizon as predicted. Decided I better try and get in on some decent pay for a change so I made the rounds out to a few rigs today sniffing around for general work. Most gave me a phone number or address for the main office in the big city. I have no experience in the oilfield so I inquired about any and every job that might be available either directly or indirectly. When I mentioned to one tool pusher that I had apprenticed in an oilfield welding shop looong ago he asked if I might consider a welding job. To which I quickly replied "Damn straight". Left my number while he does some checking as this was the only rig around that hires on location. Question I have is...Was the man serious? Is it that easy to get your foot in the door? Shouldnt I have some serious schooling? certifications? Apprenticeship? A bad ass $30,000 dually diesel truck with a $20,000 lincoln on back? Though I do love and have welding experience. I was under the impression any welding work on a rig would be flat out of the question without first having one hell of a welders resume or at least lots of general oilfield rig experience, luck and or connections. Just want to clarify before I go piss in a cup for that job as deck hand cuzz if there is the slightest chance I might be able to land a good paying welding job in the oilfield straight away then that would definately be my preference and would like to know more. definately see a golden opportunity for a booming welding business smack dab in the middle of this little oil boom since there are currently zero real welders within a fifty mile radius of here. Any general advice or