Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
Wildwelder96
    Fri Apr 03, 2020 10:51 pm

Have any of you that applied for a welding job been asked to show proof of your high school diploma?
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

I haven’t ever applied for any job that didn’t ask for, or require proof of that or the equivalent.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
TraditionalToolworks
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 7:49 am

Poland308 wrote:I haven’t ever applied for any job that didn’t ask for, or require proof of that or the equivalent.
I will just point out that I'm not a professional welder, but I am pretty good at what I do, programming computers. I never had a hard time finding work, despite the fact that I studied music in college and the fact that I never got a single degree in my life, still it was never difficult to find work.

That was until America starting giving our good jobs out to India, where the 65,000 H1-Bs per year we give out have a bachelor and the 20,000 extra have masters. I won't go into the fact that for 10 years, under the Obama administration mostly, they gave out 250,000 - 300,000 jobs per year.

Nowadays I have been turned down for interviews because I don't have a degree. Maybe you can imagine how humiliating that is when you've been in your profession for 35 years?

That said, I have never been asked to show proof of my high school diploma, I don't even have it I don't think, but I did get it.

I recommend you finish your GED if you don't have one, just so that in the future you do have it. I always say I should go back and finish my college degree, but I never do. It's so hard to go back. The longer you wait, the harder it is to go back.

I always thought welding was something you could do even if you didn't graduate high school, Josh's comment is the first I've heard that it is required. What about getting certified? Do they still require a high school diploma if you become a certified welder?