Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
bottchjr
    Wed Aug 26, 2015 5:09 pm

I am a welding student who is starting to look at career options prior to graduation. Of all the industries out there, I think I would most enjoy structural or pipe welding. Therefore, the local ironworker and pipefitter unions would be logical organizations to consider. I am still a bit unfamiliar with union work, so I came up with some questions to learn about the advantages and disadvantages and how they compare to non-union work. Any guidance would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Will unions hire based on the potential they see in recent graduates? Or are unions requiring both potential and a proven track record in the industry?

If I end up going with non-union work, I would like to find a company that looks at their hires as an investment, and therefore, provides apprentice-like training. What are some companies in the pipe and structural industries with this type of reputation?
What duration do the average pipefitting or ironwork assignments generally run for?

I hear that there can be downtime between assignments. On average, how long does it take even the most reliable and skilled welders to be reassigned?

Can union member in between jobs accept non-union work and still maintain their membership?
Last edited by bottchjr on Fri Aug 28, 2015 6:59 pm, edited 1 time in total.
    Wed Mar 11, 2015 9:13 am

Lots of GREAT questions.

As a former member of two different craft halls (Electrician IBEW 130 and Aerospace UAW 1921), I'd say that it all depends on you, the hall and local companies. What do you bring to the table? What are the requirements of becoming a hall member (sponsorship, mandatory apprenticeship, skill tests, etc.)? Is the company a closed, open or Right to Work shop?