Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
Tanner Daggett
    Mon Nov 23, 2015 3:18 pm

Hello fellow welders.

I am a community college student in southern California about to get my associates degree in welding and I am soon going to take my structural steel SMAW 3G 4G certification test.

I have been taking as many classes as possible and I can say that I have become pretty skilled in SMAW and GTAW. Now the issue that I am facing is which direction I should go with my career. At the moment I am leaning towards structural steel because I heard that they get really good pay and I am the kind of person that truly enjoys being out on an installation. But I also really enjoy tig welding because of how precise and clean and challanging it is. But I don't want to be that person that sits in a booth welding the same parts over and over again like a robot. I hate redundancy. But I have no clue as to how much aerospace welders make compared to structural welders.

I also don't know if I should just take other routes with my career other than structural and aerospace that I just don't know about.

Any thoughts on the matter I would greatly appreciate. Thank you.
    Thu Jan 06, 2011 11:40 pm

Welcome, and Happy Thanksgiving!

There's a great compromise between the paths you're looking at... I've made a ton of money TIG welding on "installations". GTAW on pipe is an "in demand" skill that pays very well for the traveler. Specific jobs that come to mind include biofuel plants like ethanol and biodiesel, nuclear facilities, pharmaceutical, semiconductor, etc.

You have far more options than structural and "sit in a booth".

For an overview of the kinds of work available, look through www.roadtechs.com

Steve S
plain ol Bill
    Wed Apr 08, 2015 6:46 pm