Whos hiring and where, pay, hours, Certification tests given, tig, mig, stick?
WELDER 13
    Wed Jan 05, 2011 1:29 pm

hey i got a question for all the experienced and knowledgeable pipe welders out there im new to this so i was wondering about machines i bought a lincoln ranger 250 chopper series great machine give you that but the pipe downhill mode gots me a little confused was wondering i got a lincoln sqaure wave tig in garage as well and i run about 50 - 60 amps fpr a 2inch sch 40 pipe [practice] that and two inch sch 160 at 85 for root :roll: with the sqaure wave and man it still to hot then ill run the ranger at the same amps on down hill pipe and it much easier to control i assume thats why its for pipe it makes it easier to run so the question is can any stick machine be used for pipe welidng and if i lower the sqare wave down about 10 amps it will run similiar with arc and bead control just want some clarity when i hear people saying i run 1-8 5 p at 125 for hot pass on a 6 inch standard wall pipe with my 200 lincoln it burns fine then i figure im gonna try it but damn that stuff get hott qick with the sqare wave i got gonna try ranger next on pipe mode im thinking thats what it may be on regular cc stick thats too hot for what ive tried so all machines dont run at the same amps then or its just the arc control[ amps and fine control] on then machine theres alot more to pipe than first thought i got a little insight just searching for more info i know it sounds confusing thanks any insight will be much helpful :idea: :oops:
4m welder
    Thu Dec 30, 2010 7:23 pm

What kind of gap are you using? If i'm fitting, i'll use a hacksaw blade for my gap from 95-110 amps for 1/8. Each machine will run different. Doesen't matter if it's a sa-200 or a ranger 250. Try dragging your downhill root and make sure to run in front of the slag.
4m welder

1/8 rod...not gap, just saw that. run 95 on a 1/8 gap downhill....fun, fun
WELDER 13