What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
xrotate
    Mon Jul 11, 2016 3:38 pm

Hello,

First I wanted to say a big thank you to Jody and everyone on these forums (and a couple other forums as well). I've been lurking and picking up ideas and tips on how to "do it better". All the videos and posts have helped me immensely. So thank you one and all and apologies in advance for the long post.

Quick background: I was a machinist for almost 20 years so I was always around welding. I learned the basics and did odd/one-off jobs using MIG, Stick and a little TIG. Not certified in any way. (My welds are from the Gorilla school as one guy put it. Big, Strong and ugly) I moved out of the machining trade about 10 years ago and I'm now an IT consultant. I still love to design, fab and build though.

So, a while ago I wanted to build an aluminum rack for my truck. I have access to a shop with a Millermatic 250 MIG and a Syncrowave 250 TIG. Both are older machines, functional but with a few problems each. The Syncrowave has leaks. From the flowmeter, which I replaced, another argon leak from "somewhere else: (Probably the solenoid.) and a small water leak on the big 18 torch. The MIG needs the liner and regulator replaced. A more experienced welder would have been able to overcome these problems but for me it was turning into a constant battle, especially when trying to TIG weld aluminum.

Rather than spend money on the older machines (which aren't mine) I decided I "needed" a TIG welder (preferably an inverter with a lot of the newer features, pulse, frequency, etc.) which led to deciding I needed a MIG welder(with a spool gun) which led to buying a plasma cutter. (just to round things out, :D )