What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
mikelove316
    Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:38 pm

hello everyone i recently bought my first home and the home owner before me built a huge wooden shed in the backyard ! looks nice big swing doors and windows and a air vent with electricity outlets . I wanted to ask if anyone has ever built a welding station inside a wooden shed?? im in welding school and work full time so its hard to stay late and get some welds in so i wanted to build my own welding station at home . I know wood and fire dont mix but i was wanting to practice more of tig welding and i think with the proper safety precautions I can get some good solid practice in . A little more back story Im also a truck driver and make a pretty good pay check and home every day . ive checked around and starting pay for welders coming straight out of school is pretty low like 10-12 dollar a hour range . So i wanted to keep my day job, still make good money and just practice at home and really get some good tig practice under my belt before i make a job move .

So would it be a good idea to buy a welding equipment and throw it in a wooden shed ??
Harry72
    Sun Nov 30, 2014 6:59 am

I wouldn't be to worried about TIG welding so much but grinding may well be a problem!
You could line a area out with cement or metal sheeting to make it safer or make up a car sized bay from it... does the building have enough height for a mezzanine floor?

Just line the appropriate walls for the welding area with Hardie board, and you're good to go.
Miller Bobcat 225
Tweco Fabricator 211i
AHP AlphaTIG 200x
Lincoln SP-135+
Hypertherm Powermax 30 Air
ProStar O/A torch
Jim FLinchbaugh
    Thu Sep 01, 2016 11:56 pm

Tile the floor, or hardy board it and find some old steel roofing, preferably white, to cover the walls.
Seal the floor to wall joint to prevent creepers from getting under it.