What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
mikelove316
    Sun Oct 30, 2016 9:38 pm

Hello fellow welders ! SO ive been welding for about 5 months and graduation is right around the corner . Im very excited to finish up and get out there to the real world and make some money !!! I currently work at a battery factor. I deliver the batteries to and from our customers as a truck driver . I meet many over the road drivers who come in to get loaded and roll out . Well just this past weekend a fellow truck driver came up and asked me about my welding skills .He wanted to know if i can fabricate a brand new bumper for his trailer. The one he had was old bent and rusted and needed to be replace . Out of excitement to get some practice outside of school i blurted out i charge $100 a hour and the job should take about 4 hours and he would have to pay for material . To my surprise he said yes thats fine !!!! I couldn't believe it . A hundred dollars a hour !!! I suppose a young buck can dream haha. Anyway he said he lives in San Antonio and could meet me anytime . I said ive give him a call soon . Only problem is i have no tools :( nothing to pay for material no way to transport anything and very little experience. So I did the right thing and called him back and told him I would not be able to do the work for him and he didnt seem to mind . He mentioned he hated to wait at a real fab. shop because he has no time to wait around he also does not want to spend a arm and a leg :lol: and that when ever i can just call him up and he will swing by . So that was that . Moving on to my questions about the whole ordeal .

Is something like this a little far out of my grasp for a soon to be graduate ??? I mean i have to start somewhere right ??? Im not trying to poke the guys eyes out and cheat him a good job .