What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
Samrindfleisch
    Fri Nov 25, 2016 12:04 am

Dear fellow welders, fabricators, and weekend warriors,

I have been welding at a local fab shop for 6 months now and in my life have only dealt with stainless in thicknesses no less that 16ga... with that being said a freind of mine took me up on a challenge I couldn't resist...

The challenge is making him some stainless steel syrup pans out of 22ga. I have been practicing with coupons and I'm getting in the swing of things. Using heat sinks clamped close to the weld I get my 1/16 tungsten up close and personal with the joint and zip down the line. If anyone could give me some pointers of a better way to do this, I would appreciate the feedback
exnailpounder
    Thu Dec 25, 2014 9:25 am

Pulsing? It does wonders for keeping the heat down on SS. I am picturing that thin SS warping and stretching and doing crazy things. Can you post up some pics? Welcome to the asylum 8-)
Ifyoucantellmewhatthissaysiwillbuyyouabeer.
Samrindfleisch

Thanks for the quick response. I have one picture here [attachment=0]20161125_173301.jpg[/attachment]

Thanks, Sam
Attachments
20161125_173301.jpg
20161125_173301.jpg (39.09 KiB) Viewed 1408 times
exnailpounder

Ok I see. I was picturing chill bars or something else. You have it bound where it can't move or do the weird things stainless does. All I could suggest would be pulsing but you seem to have found a good way to work your project. Nice job. Show us the finished project. It doesn't take much to spark off a competition around here :lol:
Samrindfleisch