What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
uzz32soarer
    Wed Jan 04, 2017 10:59 pm

G'day from downunder you blokes.

I'm building a couple of sheds on my farm and thought you might be interested. I'm a self taught welder, having grown up welding on a 180amp 240v copper core arc welder. I used it to build all sorts of things, ultimately a lovely tandem car trailer to move my show cars around.

And then the wife bought me a Mig! And life changed. No ore cleaning up slag. The wire brush retailers all miss me now and she's not plucking bits of wire out of my clothes!

The two sheds are 10mx 9m and 32m x 17m in size. That's about 1000 sq/ft and 5500 sq/ft for you Americans. I designed the sheds myself, had the drawings certified by an engineer and then went and purchased about 13 metric tons of steel to build the frames.

I started on the small shed frames which were fabricated from 50x150x5mm rolled hollow section steel (RHS) with the purlin and girt cleats out of mostly 75x10 and 75x8mm flat steel.

The 240v 250amp inverter Mig did a beautiful job on all of this material but I was running at mostly full whack so that left me bothered when I started looking at the big shed and the size of that material.

So I went and purchased a 15 year oldWIA copper core 335amp 415v Mig from a defunct manufacturing company. I fully serviced it, new bezel, tips etc and started to learn the tips and tricks to the more powerful welder.

I built a sturdy girder trolley to allow me to handle the 8.6m long rafters. Here's a shot of the girder trolley and the two Mig machines.
Attachments
brackets.jpg
brackets.jpg (64.75 KiB) Viewed 2856 times
    Fri Apr 01, 2011 10:59 pm

G'day there are about a dozen Aussies here already, My self included. More the merrier as they say. Looking forward to your stories, that's a fairly decent amount of work you have lined up.
uzz32soarer

Thanks Mike.