What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
eliotmay
    Tue Oct 25, 2011 6:56 am

I am working on a welding table. I am using a simple design with 1/2 inch steel top 30 x 60, frame and legs of 3/16 thick 2 inch square tube. I am going for a 3 inch over hang. I have a mig 135 from northern, but since im working with 3/16 material i thought it best to use the miller diversion tig. I have it cranked up high and would like input as to the looks of my welds. I thought they look good but im not an expert. Also a question for the forum... the steel table top came today. It has about a 1/4 inch bow on the short side. Length wise it looks ok. I called and told them that that would not do. Can i expect a flat piece? i hope so because im paying 250 dollars for the piece, i hope it will at least start out flat. I dont plan to weld the frame to it, i will bolt it or leave it free, i dont want to warp it if possible.any suggestions or ideas would be nice
Attachments
end frame top small.jpg
end frame top small.jpg (122.23 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
weld 1 small.jpg
weld 1 small.jpg (60.74 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
weld 0 small.jpg
weld 0 small.jpg (135.04 KiB) Viewed 3447 times
Hobby welder
my equipment:
Miller diversion 165
Northern mig 135
Wish list: plasma cutter, miller mig, low rpm chop saw with metal blade, oxy/acet setup, six car garage, modine
eliotmay

some more pix. I will post as the project progresses
Attachments
top frame small.jpg
top frame small.jpg (77.15 KiB) Viewed 3443 times
end frame top small.jpg
end frame top small.jpg (122.87 KiB) Viewed 3443 times
Hobby welder
my equipment:
Miller diversion 165
Northern mig 135
Wish list: plasma cutter, miller mig, low rpm chop saw with metal blade, oxy/acet setup, six car garage, modine
delraydella
    Mon Apr 25, 2011 7:35 pm

Nice looking welds!