What welding projects are you working on? Are you proud of something you built?
How about posting some pics so other welders can get some ideas?
LS Customs
    Tue Feb 23, 2016 11:56 pm

Along with trying to make a tig torch cooler (http://forum.weldingtipsandtricks.com/v ... f=9&t=9049), I also decided to try to make a rotary welding positioner. I wanted to grab one of the ones Ive seen in one of Jody's vids, but they are too expensive for me to justify it at this time... I am fairly new to tig welding, but I am doing things to help pay for the materials, etc. I a comfortable with the practice already, but I need to practice as often as I can.

I figured I would post it as I go along... I have a couple of friends that would like for me to put together sort of a "kit" for them too use also, so Im hoping this works very well... I have never done anything like this before, so feel free to criticize (constructively)... or offer your opinions... thanks...

I am going to be adding a motor and pedal to this, but I can also use it and spin it by hand, if I make some sort of clamp for the torch... will be able to use this horizontally or vertically or in between... i am going to be making two of them, initially, and one does not need to tilt at this point, so i decided to use a cheap harbor freight tool stand (i already had laying around to mount everything to).

for this first one, I only need to be able to weld up to 6" ish tubing.. mainly 4" or smaller...
LS Customs

Here are some of the parts, I have gathered so far...

the stand... they do have one that is more "heavy duty" but I dont need to get it... and i will be laser cutting some 1/8" pieces and making them puzzle piece together to make the bench top version... I am a home hobbyist.. I program my own parts and then have friends where they either cnc my programs, or i can operate the laser myself (i learned this a while ago to save money)...