Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Datsun510
    Fri Feb 16, 2018 1:10 am

So my 2018 AHP 200x finally arrived and I'm in need of supplies for hobby projects in both steel and aluminum.
I'll be running the machine on 110V for the time being. I'm a new welder with zero time on TIG, and very very minimal MIG experience. I have more questions than answers at this point, so please give some advice where you can.

I'm already over my budget so I need to be frugal about the following choices, but I'd rather spend smart money up front to avoid hassles later.

Gas
I need to pick up a 100% Argon bottle for TIG. I've read about the dangers of buying Craigslist "customer owned" bottles and think I have the lay of the land http://www.ebay.com/gds/BUYING-A-GAS-OR ... 737/g.html. The local AirGas supplier says they refill customer bottles, or swap out with smooth-necked bottles.

Welding at 10-20 CFH with an 80 CF bottle only gets you 4-8 hours of weld time before refill. That doesn't seem like much time.
The local welding supply isn't open on weekends, so refilling during the week will be a PITA.

I'm thinking of going with an S sized bottle, but I haven't seen any of these in person quite yet. I've got a Prius (yeah, yeah, I know, don't hate me) so transporting is a concern. That said, I did stuff a 5.7L Buick short block in the back at one point to go to a machine shop. The irony of that moment was not lost on me :D

That's a long way to say, do you think an S or K sized bottle is too large for a casual hobbyist?

Tungsten
Based on the majority of advice and videos I've watched I'm going to start with 2% Lanthanated tungsten (1/16 & 3/32)
On Amazon they have some deals from Midwest Tungsten Service, and are about 1/2 the price of the CK version sold on this site. Are they half the quality?