Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
sru_tx
    Fri Oct 23, 2015 8:53 pm

I'm a newbie teaching myself how to TIG weld. I'm using 3/32 2% Lanthanated electrode, 3/32" ER70-S2 filler, on 3/16" hot rolled steel and some 14 gauge hot-rolled steel as my practice coupons. I've ground off the mill scale using a grinding disc to bare metal (not just shined up mill scale with a flap wheel, been there done that).

I'm doing the steel welding drill that Jody discussed. Laying beads. Getting seat time. As suggested in the video, after a few beads, quench the piece in water. What I have found is that after a few quenches I can no longer get a decent bead. Nothing sticks. Looks awful. I wiped it down with acetone and still no change. Today, after having this problem show up again, I took the flap wheel to the remainder of the coupon and took off any discoloration. Back to shiny silver metal. Voila, good beads (relatively speaking).

So am I missing something? As I'm quickly learning, TIG needs clean surfaces but I didn't think I was going to have to re-grind the surface after quenching.

Am I missing something?

thanks,

newbie Steve
Houston, TX
Figuring out what I want to be when I grow up.

Better to be a "Learn it all" than a "Know it all"
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

It's possible that when you dunk the hot metal in the bucket that any oil on the unground portions is creating a film on the top of the water. When you pull the part out of the water it is redepositing oil on the whole part.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
Poland308
    Thu Sep 10, 2015 8:45 pm

Or it could just be oxidation building up from the repeated dunks.
I have more questions than answers

Josh
    Sat Jul 06, 2013 11:16 am
    Near Pittsburgh,Pennsylvania. Steel Buckle of the Rust Belt

Steve,