Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
firstdraft33
    Tue Jun 21, 2016 2:31 pm

I am very new to tig welding and I am searching for my first tig welder. I have narrowed it down to Lincoln Square Wave 200 and the CKWW mt200. I am having troubles finding actual reviews of the mt200 and was wondering if any of you have some thoughts. From reading, it seems that the mt200 with its 5 amp start and a few more settings would be a good choice.

Thanks.
Least honorable
    Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:38 pm

Knowing what you will be welding would be helpful if you're looking for tig welder recommendations/advice, I personally went with the everlasting powetig 250 for 1,950$ cad. Haven't used it yet though.waiting on the 220 power to be put in, if it's a welder your thinking of getting let me know, and I'll reply with how well it runs when I get a chance

Noah
firstdraft33

I am a home hobbyist welder looking to expand into tig welding. I have some projects that require some thin wall Aluminum and thin wall DOM and felt like this was a good time to expand my skill set.

I have done some reading on the Everlast welders. From a performance perspective they seem like they would do what I need them to do. But I was turned away by the lack of service and the many stories out there of people having to wait months to get repairs.

firstdraft33 wrote: From reading, it seems that the mt200 with its 5 amp start and a few more settings would be a good choice.
Thanks.
I agree, the other thing that would bother me about the Lincoln is the 15 second NON ADJUSTABLE post flow, which would waste a lot of gas, otherwise from reviews it seems the Lincoln is a decent unit for the price.