General welding questions that dont fit in TIG, MIG, Stick, or Certification etc.
housegsx
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 12:44 pm

Ok, I'm very new to welding. I pick up a Lincoln Mig 140 from a friend recently. I got it for a decent price and it has only been used twice by him.

About 2 months ago when I picked it up I started practicing like crazy for about 4 or 5 days. Then I ran out of gas. I haven't welded since because it is such a pain in the ass to get welding supplies. Nobody is open on weekends and everywhere closes at 4pm on weekdays. I took a day off work about a month ago and went up to Valley national Gas. I picked up some brushes, another pair of gloves, and some SS wire. I wanted to get my bottle filled and also pick up an additional bottle and fill it with a tri-mix to have for SS.

Well, they did not have any full tanks ready and did not seem willing to fill up anything for me. Seems like unless your a business getting several tanks then you aren't worth any of these places time. A couple places told me I'd have to drop off a tank and maybe they'd get to it in a few days to a week... :roll: Why can't they just fill me up? Is it this difficult for everyone else to get supplies, mainly gas?
JAL1639
    Fri Oct 02, 2009 11:37 pm

For supplies other than gas and electrodes, I use a web site that way I don't have to worry about whether or not they have it in stock or not...

http://www.toughweld.com/
War Eagle!
cognitdiss
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 2:34 pm

Look for small places, they are usually way cooler than the chains.

That said, if you commit to a schedule, like say a bottle every couple of months, they will have it for you. I have a small bottle of tri-mix too, I would never expect to roll up and roll out w/ another one w/ no notice. Just gotta think ahead some times....
mwallace61
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 5:35 pm

You got a tractor supply in the area? They have gas in tradeable bottles.
OldSneelock
    Sat Oct 03, 2009 6:05 pm