Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
Mwood95
    Sat Jul 25, 2020 8:42 pm

Hey there, new member here.
Ive been migging stuff for projects for awhile, just bought an AHP 201xd

My excuse to dive into TIG was I have a 02 mercedes that needs a rear catalytic converter. I bought a new magnaflow cat and Im going to weld it in place of the previous one. I have some experience with welding exhausts as I MIG'd a stainless exhaust for a project car a couple years ago. It didnt go great as my harbor frieght mig doesnt like thin metal.
I have plenty of stainless tubing lying around in the garage to practice on before I weld the cat on my merc.

The mercedes exhaust is probably 400 series. the magnaflow cat is stainless.
I dont really want to pay for the gas to purge these two welds, and it seems like it would be complicated to set up.
I would have to blow argon from the outlet of the secondary exhaust pipe Im welding on all the way through the exhaust. like 2-3 feet of tubing. I dont know if thats difficult or if argon traveling that distance has a hard time pushing other gases out of the chamber. the argon would also have to travel through the cat to reach the primary weld.

the previous owner of this car had a cat welded in on the other side of the exhaust by a crappy shop, and its disgusting. mig wire sticking out, nasty gobs of weld everywhere. If I can get the other side sorted out, Id like to order another cat and replace that one too.

I have seen written elsewhere that the coating left behind by solar flux can chip off and destroy catalytic converters downstream. Is this a common issue?

Any advice on backpurging a catalytic converter thats deep in a secondary exhaust section like this? Id rather avoid it all together honestly.

Mitch
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am