Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
2020Silverado
    Thu Jan 21, 2021 1:04 pm

Hey Gang, I have been a welding hobbyist for years, side jobs and just to be creative in my spare time. I am wanting to make the jump to Tig now after all these years and got some sticker shock on what a decent Square wave machine can cost. A local weld supply company can get me a Lincoln Tig 200 Square wave machine for what I think I can get away with spending without a divorce. Any input on this machine would be great, yes it's within my budget but if the machine is going to be a let down then I might as well just hold off until my budget increases.
Thanks in advance.
cj737
    Thu Sep 29, 2016 8:59 am

From those who have bought/used it, the only 2 complaints I hear are: post flow is not adjustable. It will flow for 1 sec/10 amps. That's 10 seconds of post flow for 100 amps of welding.

And the machine does not have Lift Arc, HF only. (I might be mistaken here, but that's what I recall). Works great if you use a pedal or a torch switch, but there are times Lift Arc is very, very handy. Especially on a side hustle.
Jakedaawg
    Mon Feb 16, 2015 8:45 pm

I cant understand folks who complain about the post flow wasting gas. Granted, the customer pays for my gas but I find the cost of gas inconsequential. It just blows my mind.
Miller Dynasty 280 DX, Lincoln 210 MP, More tools than I have boxes for and a really messy shop.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

Jakedaawg wrote:I cant understand folks who complain about the post flow wasting gas. Granted, the customer pays for my gas but I find the cost of gas inconsequential. It just blows my mind.
lucky you.
my gas cost double the amount for half as much as yours does. :o
tweak it until it breaks
tweake