Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
mebrett75
    Sun Aug 12, 2012 10:33 pm

i am a beginner at tig welding with some experience using a lincoln 175 tig at work. i felt comfortable enough with the welding i was doing at work so i decided to purchase a tig for home and bought the everlast 200dx. i can produce nice welds with a mig, stick, and tig at work but can not get the everlast to even start a puddle on aluminum without gouging ( it kind of reminds me of an air arch lol ) also just burns up my tungsten and makes the cup glow after a few seconds. i have watched many of your videos and cant seem to figure out what i am doing wrong or if possibly the welder is damaged. it had a dent in the side when i recieved it but everlast assured me that this wasnt the first time a welder was dented during shipping and the welder would be fine so they sent me a new cover. all i am trying to do at the moment is make a long even puddle without welding with filler, to get the feel and tune the settings on my new machine but havent had any luck. on a piece of 1/8 and 1/4 aluminum, i am using a #8 cup, 1/16 2% thor. and anywhere from 6-15 on argon. amps were from 60 to 120, all other settings were used from your video. i also have tried a #7 and #10 cups, a 3/32 2% thor, plus tried moving the settings from your video + and - one at a time to see if anything helped but no luck. all it does is it looks like it is burning the aluminum or just melts the tungsten. i recieved the tig last wednesday and have been watching your videos which i think are great but cant get this to even come close to working correctly. here are a few pics of what it is doing PLEASE ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APRECCIATED!
bad weld.jpg
bad weld.jpg (93.73 KiB) Viewed 1961 times
RedIron881
    Fri Mar 23, 2012 9:29 am