Tig welding tips, questions, equipment, applications, instructions, techniques, tig welding machines, troubleshooting tig welding process
RichardH
    Sun Jan 12, 2014 10:45 pm

OK, I'm new to welding, and jumping in head first with TIG, after years of watching Jody's videos. (I expect most of my welding will be on light-gauge aluminum, and spool gun wasn't very appealing.)

As I build a collection of consumables, I'm finding hugely different prices - one place might have the same tungsten at like 2.5x the price for the same quantity. Same with collets, cups, gas lenses, filler rod, etc.

Do you "get what you pay for" with cheap consumables? Do they tend to fail that much faster, or in the case of tungsten and filler, is the content / performance not really up to par?

As a hobbyist / beginner, I'm looking to understand when it's smart to buy cheap, and when it's smart to spend more money.

And, of course, what are your favorite sources? USAweld.com (HTP) seems to have good prices on tungsten; river-weld on eBay seems to have good prices for torch parts. Or do they? :?

Thanks,
Richard
Grinding discs... still my #1 consumable!
taylorkh
    Tue Mar 06, 2012 9:43 am

Hello Richard,