mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
    Thu Dec 01, 2016 12:30 pm

As a highly unskilled welder, I am in no position to judge, but I am starting to have certain suspicions about the people who teach welding on Youtube, and I wonder if anyone here would like to confirm or refute them.

Youtube is full of people making very long, continuous demonstration welds on coupons as well as assemblies that will never actually be measured or used. Nearly all of the time, the welders don't even mention the problem long welds cause: severe warpage. They're welding things they're just going to throw out, so they don't worry about warpage. My suspicion: they ought to be telling us not to make long welds unless we absolutely have to, because a) short welds warp much less, and b) long welds are nearly always totally unnecessary for the strength of what we're working on.

I saw a video guy putting 6"-long stick welds on scrap steel. When does it make sense to make a 6"-long stick weld without stopping? I would think that would be reserved for big projects that have to be extremely strong but don't have to be very straight.

I've been putting half a square inch of 70,000-psi weld on joints that will never see more than 50 pounds of tension. Seems like a stupid idea in retrospect.

Youtube is also full of people making very pretty uninterrupted welds, but in reality, they should be telling us to make interrupted welds, a short segment at a time, and skip around, no matter how ugly the welds are. We should get used to making ugly welds that don't warp much and then grinding later to make them cute. True or false? To watch Youtube, you would think grinding was a sin, but it seems like it's the correct and normal thing to do.