mig and flux core tips and techniques, equipment, filler metal
Rattlenbang
    Wed Sep 16, 2020 12:06 am

Hey all, I'm a somewhat newby welder working on a crack on my small air compressor. Where a support was welded to one of the air tanks a crack formed and allowed air to leak. I thought it would be a simple matter of running a bead over the crack, but no matter how many times I weld it, new cracks form, generally alongside the bead. I've tried various voltages and speeds, and can tell I'm getting good penetration, but after several passes I've still got an air leak. I'm using a new Everlast 140 inverter welder with flux core wire. The tank steel appears to be about 3/16"

I'm also getting some really nasty pops while welding, sudden extremely bright flashes that even the welding helmet can't dim down, and there tends to be craters left behind from these, some of which also leak air. These are much, much brighter than the ordinary arc.

Any advice on how to proceed? I once watched a guy try to fix an air leak on an classic alloy wheel, and every time he tried to plug a pinhole, new ones opened up beside his weld, and it's almost like this is whats happening here. He blamed the quality of the casting but I don't know if that's what is happening here.
tweake
    Mon Dec 18, 2017 4:53 am

throw the tank away before someone gets killed. :shock:

i don't think you realize that when they crack they split, often split apart enough that it can launch the whole compressor across the room. people have been killed by this before.
this is why they get hydrostatic tested after welding.

this is also why you do not weld on compressor tanks, especially by newbies.

buy a new tank!
tweak it until it breaks
tweake

Rattlenbang wrote: