Welcome to the community! Tell us about yourself, your welding interests, skills, specialties, equipment, etc.
Bsmith
    Wed May 25, 2016 7:38 pm

I'm just a helper tired of grinding. I work in a fab shop that focuses on petro chemical piping.

Ive been practicing mig for roughly 6 months, just started on pipe. Beleive it or not I can weld pipe better than structural. Manily because I was focused on pretty mig like tig welds.

I don't think on pipe, just focus on breaking the wall down for complete joint penetration. I hope to take some pics for Yall tomorrow of my coupons. To get your opinions.

We mig the root 2" sch 80 and above, pluse the cap.

I think Yall call pulse spray transfer.

I just started practicing pluse, totally differnt to me.

Anyway since I started pipe welding I've turned OCD. I think about carrying the puddle all day in myhead.

I'm very lucky to be blessed to weld with a miller pipe worx 400.

I don't see any post about migging pipe, is it not talked about or not common?

I have sone questions and inout, ill be posting soon.

Thanks for havin me.
Coldman
    Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:16 am

Welcome B. Nice to have you along. You're right, pipe migin is not talked about much. My take on that is that its used mostly out on the pipeline and at the end of the day those guys are too tired, ornery and drunk to go talking about it on an Internet forum if you know what I mean.
We'd like to hear from you about your experience and methods. Some pics would be nice. And also a review of your pipeworx, the holy grail of mig welders in front of which true blue believers bow down and pay homage.
Flat out like a lizard drinkin'
    Sun May 01, 2016 7:46 am

Done a lot of field fab chilled pipe work in positioners with wire process. Do a "hybrid" system i.e. a lot of flanges on fittings and Vic groove the other end for field install. Build it right off the drawings, take it to the field and bolt it up like a Lego set, fits perfectly everytime :?